• Relaxing Harp Music by Former Boston Symphony Principal Harpist
  • Astor Piazzolla: Escualo
  • Ann Hobson Pilot Concerto - Williams On Willows and Birches
  • Ann Hobson Pilot First Solo Recording
  • CONTRASTS - American Music for Flute and Harp
  • Ann Hobson Pilot Concertos - Ravel, Williams, Debussy, Saint-Saens, and Kaska
  • Ann Hobson Pilot Concertos - Mathias, Ginastera
Relaxing Harp Music by Former Boston Symphony Principal Harpist

A Dream

Relaxing Harp Music by Former Boston Symphony Principal Harpist
Ann Hobson Pilot, Harpist
assisted by Leone Buyse on alto flute

Purchase this recording:

Please use the Contact Us page for purchasing this recording.

Content of This Recording:

  1. Cavatina from the Deer Hunter
  2. Intermezzo from Captain Horatio Hornblower
  3. Ballet for my Little Girls
  4. Largo
  5. Siciliano
  6. Arabesque
  7. Clair de Lune
  8. Berceuse
  9. Lanes of Limerick from Angela's Ashes
  10. Meditation
  11. Chiquillin de Bachin
  12. A dream for Alto Flute and Harp
Ann Hobson Pilot Recording - Astor Piazzolla: Escualo

Astor Piazzolla: Escualo

Ann Hobson Pilot, Harpist
Lucia Lin, Violin
JP Jofre, Bandoneon

Purchase this recording:

Content of This Recording:

1. Escualo
2. Histoire du Tango
  1. I. Bordel 1900
  2. II. Café 1930
  3. III. Nightclub 1960
  4. IV. Concert d'aujourd'hui

3. Valsísimo
4. Six Tango-Études: III. Molto marcato e energico
5. Chiquillín de Bachín
6. Angel Suite
  1. I. Milonga del Ángel
  2. II. La Muerte del Ángel
  3. III. Resurección del Ángel
Ann Hobson Pilot Recording - Williams On Willows and Birches

Ann Hobson Pilot, Harpist

Boston Symphony Orchestra, Shi-Yeon Sung, Conductor

Purchase this recording:

Content of This Recording:

On Willows and Birches - Concerto for Harp and Orchestra: John Williams

Watch the video exclusive of "On Willows and Birches".

Ann Hobson Pilot Solo Recording

Ann Hobson Pilot

Boston Symphony Principal Harpist in her first solo recording

Label: Boston Records

Purchase this CD:

Content of This Recording:

1. Bach, Johann Sebastian: Bourrée [from the Violin Partita I, arr. Carlos Salzedo]
2. Bach, Johann Sebastian: Largo [from the Third Violin Sonata, arr. Marcel Grandjany]
3. Bach, Johann Sebastian: Siciliano [from Sonata in E flat for Flute and Cembalo, arr. Dewey Owens]
4. Corelli, Arcangelo: Giga [arr. Carlos Salzedo]
5. Hindemith, Paul: Sonate
6. Salzedo, Carlos: Ballade [for Solo Harp]
7. Debussy, Claude: First Arabesque [arr. Carlos Salzedo]
8. Debussy, Claude: Clair de Lune [arr. Carlos Salzedo]
9. Fauré, Gabriel: Berceuse [arr. Ann Hobson Pilot]
10. Ravel, Maurice: Prelude [arr. Carlos Salzedo]
11. Pierné, Gabriel: Impromptu - Caprice [for Solo Harp]
12. Castaldo, Joseph: Meditation [for harp without pedals]
13. Salzedo, Carlos: Jolly Piper [concert fantasy on the theme of "The Sailor's Hornpipe"]
14. Malotte, Albert Hay: The Lord's Prayer [arr. Carlos Salzedo]

About This Recording:

This recording was made possible by a generous grant from Mrs. Willona Sinclair, who together with her husband, Donald, have endowed the principal harp chair of the Boston Symphony Orchestra which is currently occupied by Ann Hosbon Pilot.
Ann Hobson Pilot Recording - Contrasts


American Music for Flute and Harp
Leone Buyse, Flute
Ann Hobson Pilot, Harp

Label: Boston Records

Purchase this CD:

Content of This CD:

Sonata da Camera for flute and harp, Opus 89 (1986): David Noon
  • Overture
  • Vivo
  • Sarabande
  • Gigue

  • Contrasts for solo harp (1956): Joseph Castaldo
  • Theme (Gently)
  • Moderato
  • Allegro
  • Secco e desolato
  • Graziosamente
  • Misterioso
  • Allegro con spirito

  • Kokopeli for solo flute (1990): Katherine Hoover

    Study for solo piccolo (1964): Bernard Rogers

    Song of the Lark for flute and harp (1989): Charles Rochester Young

    Four Lyric Pieces for solo flute (1962): John Heiss

    Serenade No. 10 for flute and harp (1957): Vincent Persichetti

    A Dream for alto flute and harp (1994): Geoffrey Dana Hicks

    About Leone Buyse

    In September, 1993, Leone Buyse relinquished her position with the Boston Symphony Orchestra to become Professor of Flute at the University of Michigan and pursue a more active solo career after 22 years as an orchestra musician. Acting principal flutist of the BSO since September, 1990, she was invited by Seiji Ozawa to join the orchestra in 1983 as assistant principal flutist of the San Francisco Symphony and played piccolo and flute with the Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra. The only American finalist in the 1969 l'Orchestre de la Suisse Romande, the Boston Symphony and Boston Pops, the San Francisco Symphony, the Utah Symphony, the Rochester Philharmonic, and the New Hampshire Music Festival, of which she was principal flutist for ten years. Highly active in chamber music, she has performed with the Boston Symphony Chamber Players throughout Europe and Japan, with the Juilliard and Muir String quartets, the Boston Musica Viva and Chamber Music West, and at annual conventions of the National Flute Association. As a member of the Webster Trio, she has appeared frequently with her husband, clarinetist Michael Webster, and pianist Martin Amlin.

    Ms. Buyse has taught at the New England Conservatory, Boston University, Tanglewood Music Center, and the Boston University Tanglewood Institute, and was visiting associate professor of flute at the Eastman School of Music in 1985. She has presented recitals and master classes at universities, conservatories and festivals across the United States, as well as in Canada, Japan, Greece, and Turkey, and is in great demand as an adjudicator and clinician. She may be heard as solo flutist on numerous recordings of the Boston Symphony, the Boston Pops and the San Francisco Symphony for the Philips, deutsche Grammophon, RCA Victor, and Sony Classical labels. In 1993 Crystal Records released her first solo recordings. "The Sky's the Limit," a compact disc devoted to twentieth century American flute music.

    A native of Ithaca, New York, Ms. Buyse was graduated with distinction from the Eastman School of Music, where she was a student of Joseph Mariano, and continued her education on a Fulbright grant, studying in France and Switzerland with Michel Debost, Jean-Pierre Rampal, and Marcel Moyse. She holds and MM degree and 1992 Distinguished Alumna Award from Emporia State University. Also an accompished pianist, she served for two years as accompanist at Rampal's summer master classes in Nice, France.
    Ann Hobson Pilot Recording

    Ann Hobson Pilot

    Boston Symphony Orchestra Principal Harpist
    Members of the Boston Symphony Orchestra*
    London Symphony Orchestra, Ronald Feldmon, Conductor**

    Label: Denouement Records

    Purchase this CD:

    Content of This CD:

    Introduction et Allegro: Maurice Ravel

    The Lances of Limerick from Angela's Ashes: John Williams

    Danses Sacree et profane: Claude Debussy

    Fantaisie pour Harpe: Camille Saint-Saens*

    Concerto for Harp and Orchestra: Kevin Kaska**
    [world premiere recording]
    I. Andante tranquillo
    II. Lento con espressivo (for Salzedo)
    III. Energico
    Ann Hobson Pilot Recording

    Ann Hobson Pilot

    English Chamber Orchestra
    Isaiah Jackson, Conductor

    Label: KOCH

    Purchase this Recording:

    Content of This CD:

    Harp Concerto, Opus 50 (1970): William Mathias
    I. Moderato
    II. Adagio Appassionato, Sempre Flessibile
    III. Allegro Vivo

    Harp Concerto, Opus 25 (1956): Alberto Ginastera
    I. Allegro Gusto
    II. Molto Moderato
    III. Liberamente Capriccioso - Vivace
    Contact webmaster regarding any question or comment about this site.